NMC is replacing Medical Council of India (MCI) | Know the FAQs Here


NMC is replacing Medical Council of India (MCI): On Monday, the Union Health Ministry finalized 25 members of the recently constituted National Medical Commission (NMC). On 28th August 2019, the act was passed which declares that there will be one uniform exam for Undergraduate courses and Postgraduate Super-Speciality courses.

The members include 10 Vice-Chancellors (VCs) from different states, 9 members from the State Medical Councils (SMCs) and 4 part-time members from the autonomous boards. These members replace the Medical Council of India with the Health Ministry. The nominations sent by the state governments, union territories and state medical council to draw and participate in the constitution of the National Medical Commission Act 2019.

Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan said that “The work on NMC is being done one time. We had nine months to select the members of the NMC, and within a short span of two months, we have framed the rules, notified them and also carried out the process of selection of the part-time members of the NMC.


The 10 VCs have been decided on from  West Bengal, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana, and Dagar and Nagar Haveli. The authorities also chose four contributors, who will serve as element-time members, from the independent forums – Undergraduate (UG), Post Graduate (PG), Medical Assessment and Rating Board (MARB) and Ethics and Registration Board. They have been selected from Tripura, Jammu and Kashmir, Nagaland, and Madhya Pradesh.

Further, 9 representatives were additionally selected from State Medical Council (SMCs) specifically–Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim, Kerala, Karnataka, Uttarakhand, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra, and Manipur.

The health ministry also stated that different NMC participants consist of one senior officer of Additional Secretary rank, one Director from any AIIMS and any administrators might be selected from the PGIMER, Chandigarh, JIGMER, Puducherry, Tata Memorial Hospital, North Eastern Indira Gandhi Regional Institute of Health and Medical Sciences (NEIGRIHMS), Shillong and All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health (AIIHPH), Kolkata.

The National Medical Commission Act, 2019 obtained assent of the President on 08th August 2019 and become posted within the legitimate Gazette on an equal day. The Central Government sought nominations from the States / UTs and State Medical Councils (SMCs) for a charter of the Medical Advisory Council below the National Medical Commission Act, 2019.

See NTA 2020 Exams: JEE Main, NEET, GPAT, DUET, CMAT, DU JAT

Previous articleAdmission in M.tech Courses without GATE score
Next articleWhy Digital Marketing Courses is Essential for MBA Graduates?
Brahmjeet is a B.Tech graduate. He is passionate about SEO and keen to learn new technology.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here