PM Narendra Modi approves six new IITs funds: 4 Old IITs got 456 crores


PM Narendra Modi approves six new IITs: In a recent meeting presided by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi gave green signal to the project proposed by Cabinet of 7002 Crores rupees. These premium educational institutes (IITs) are going to be set up at Palakkad (Kerala), Jammu (Jammu and Kashmir), Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh), Dharwad (Karnataka), Bhilai (Chhattisgarh) and Goa.

Upcoming Application Form

  1. Amity University Admissions Open Now Apply Now
  2. Reva University Bengaluru Admissions Open Apply Now
  3. Manipal Uni. 2020 Admissions Now Open Apply Now
  4. UPES Admissions 2020 Now Open Apply Now
  5. NIIT University Admissions 2020 Open Apply Now
  6. Amrita University Admissions 2020 Open Apply Now
  7. KIIT University Admissions 2020 Open Apply Now
  8. LPU University Admissions 2020 Open Apply Now
  9. Chandigarh University Admissions 2020 Open Apply Now

IITs Funds Update:

One-time capital grant: Four IITs got additional one-time capital grant Rs 456.10 crores approved by Ministry of Human Resource Development. This fund is allocated under a scheme ” Sabko Shiksha, Acchi Shiksha“. where IITs from Madras, Kharagpur, Bombay, and Delhi will get benefitted from this scheme.

Check your JEE Main Eligibility Here. Join & Refer your Friends to Earn Paytm Cashback Check Now & Refer
Name of IIT Fund (in crores) Allocated
IIT Madras Rs. 103.41
IIT Kharagpur Rs. 151.19
IIT Bombay Rs. 96.50
IIT Delhi Rs. 105

Source: TOI

Subscribe to Get Updated Information about PM Narendra Modi approves six new IITs funds: 4 Old IITs got 456 crores

PM Narendra Modi approves six new IITs funds

PM Narendra Modi approves six new IITs by forming of Societies under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. And will give them legal status till the amendment for their incorporation in The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 is enacted.

List of 23 IITs

Find the list of 23 IITs in different states of India. At Present 23 IITs are established out of which 16 are full fledge established and operational from own campus are Gandhinagar, Bombay, New Delhi, Roorkee, Kharagpur, Chennai, Guwahati, Indore, Kanpur, Jodhpur, Bhubaneswar, Hyderabad, Patna, Ropar, Mandi and Varanasi.

IITs Colleges India, List of Premium Institute Campus

Rs. 7002 Crore Plan for Construction of these IIT Campuses

The total cost approved by PM is Rs. 7002 Crores for running these 6 IITs, and will be incurred between 2015-16 and 2018-19. And plans to complete the project by 31st March 2020.

Increase in Number of Seats: Intake

Initially, In the first year 180 students will get admission these new IITs. later on, the seats will be increased to 450, 928 respectively. The breakup is i.e. Undergraduates- 840, Postgraduates-80 and PhDs-8.

Admission in New IITs or Old IITs

The students seeking admission in all the IITs have to give the following exams.

Courses Entrance Examination
Undergraduate Courses JEE Main 2020 Exam
Postgraduate Courses GATE, JAM, CEED, or CSIR-NET/DBT JRF

History of Indian Institutes of Technologies

The Indian Institutes of Technologies are the autonomous institutions owned by Government of India under the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961. The first IIT was established at Kharagpur (IIT Kharagpur)  in 1951 and later IIT Bombay in 1958.

IITs State City Locations
IITs State City Locations

Source: TOI