What is Central Teachers Eligibility Test (CTET)?


Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) is a national level entrance. CTET is conducted by Central Board of School Education (CBSE) twice a year. The exam will be conducted by local authorities of every state before recruitment of teachers. Through this exam, candidates can become teachers in the government schools. The CTET exam consists of two papers i.e Paper-I and Paper-II. Paper-I is for the candidates who want to teach from class 1 to class 5 and paper 2 is for candidates who wan to teach from class 6 to class 8.

What is Central Teachers Eligibility Test (CTET)?


Central Teachers Eligibility Test (CTET) is an exam to shortlist the Candidates for appointment as teachers in class 1 to class 8.

  • According to the Ministry of Human Resource Development, It is compulsory for the local authorities to conduct the CTET exam before the recruitment of teachers.
  • The Candidates should be recruited who are the most skilled and responsible for the young children.
  • As per the new rules by the Government of India, having a B.Ed degree is not enough to become a teacher.
  • Now, Candidates have to clear the Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) in order to become a teacher in any state of India.
  • On the other hand, Candidate have to fulfil the basic eligibility criteria to appear for the CTET exam.

Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) Eligibility Criteria

The details regarding the CTET Eligibility Criteria is given below:

Subscribe to Get Updated Information about What is Central Teachers Eligibility Test (CTET)? - Admissions

  • Candidates must have passed class 12 with minimum 45% aggregate marks to be eligible for the post of Primary Teacher.
  • Candidates must have passed their graduation with minimum 45% or class 12 with minimum 50% are eligible to apply for the post of the elementary teacher.
  • Candidate must have completed their prescribed teacher training/ education courses before the exam.

CTET Exam Pattern

The details regarding the CTET Exam Pattern is given below:

  • CTET exam pattern is organised by Central Board of School Education (CBSE), Delhi.
  • According to the CTET 2020 notification, no changes in the exam pattern is made by the authority.
  • The exam pattern is different for each exam which is given in the table below:
Central Teacher Eligibility Test Pattern
Particulars Paper-I Paper-II
Exam Mode Offline Offline
Number of Subjects 05 04
Duration of Exam 2.5 hours 2.5 hours
Total questions 150 150
Total Marks 150 150
Type of questions MCQ type MCQ type
Language of Exam Paper English and Hindi English and Hindi
Marking scheme +01 for correct answer +01 for correct answer
0 for incorrect answer 0 for incorrect answer

Download CBSE CTET Syllabus 2020: Download Syllabus PDF Here

CTET Syllabus

The details regarding the CTET Syllabus is given below:

  • The syllabus for Central Teacher Eligibility Test is different for Paper-I and Paper-II.
  • CTET Syllabus focuses on Child development & Pedagogy and concept of education.
  • The syllabus consists of two languages in the exam in each paper.
  • Other than that, Candidates need to focus on Science/ Environmental Science apart from mathematics.

Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) Exam Highlights

The overview of CTET exam are given in the table below:

Central Teacher Eligibility Test Basic Details
Exam Name Central Test Eligibility Test (CTET)
Conducting Body Central Board of Secondary Education
Exam Level National Level
Exam Frequency Twice a year
Exam Mode Offline mode
Duration 150 minutes
Language English and Hindi
Purpose of Exam To shortlist Candidates
Number of test Cities 112 cities all across India
Contact Number 011-22235774
Official Website https://ctet.nic.in/webinfo/Public/Home.aspx


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here