Top Law Colleges in India: Admission Procedure, College List


Top Law Colleges in India: Here is a list of the country’s best law colleges, which have given India pride in producing the best alumni, exam results and contribution to Legal Studies department of the country. These colleges are considered the top law schools based on the quality of students produced, research output, industry interface, academic productivity.

Admission Open 2023

  • Top University & Colleges Official Links, Application & Scholarship Forms. Apply Now

These Law colleges offer undergraduate (UG), postgraduate (PG) and doctorate (PhD) level courses. Here is a comprehensive list of Top Law colleges offering various courses in Law Studies.

List of Law Colleges

The list of top law colleges in India for the academic session 2020-21. National Law Universities, National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Aligarh Muslim University, National Law University and Judicial Academy and other top government and private colleges are included in this list.

Subscribe to Get Updated Information about Top Law Colleges in India: Admission Procedure, College List - Admissions

Law colleges of India have been rated on different educational factors. Some of the major factors are national importance, college affiliation and approval, quality of education, infrastructure and facilities provided by the colleges, placement reports, student’s preferences, etc.

Law Entrance Exams

Admission in law courses will be done through national, state and university level examinations. Candidates seeking for admission in National Law Universities have to qualify the CLAT (Common Law Admission Test) exam. Candidates can also apply through AILET (All India Law Entrance Test) and LSAT (Law School Admission Test). Some states also organize their separate entrance tests like AP LAWCETTS LAWCET and MH CET Law for providing admission in the law courses.

Find Law Entrance Examination Here.

Top Law Colleges

The list of the top law University is given below.

College Established Affiliated To
National Law University, New Delhi 2008 Public University
National Law University, Jodhpur 1999 Public University
Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala 2006 Public University
Chanakya National Law University, Patna 2006 Public University
Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar 2004 Public University
Uttaranchal University, Dehradun 2002 State Private University
Symbiosis Law School, Pune 1977 Symbiosis International University
ICFAI University, Dehradun 2003 Deemed University
Christ University, Bangalore 1969 Private Deemed University
ILS Law College, Pune 1923 Savitribai Phule Pune University
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur 1951 Autonomous Institution
Bharati Vidyapeeth University, Pune 1964 Deemed University
Faculty of Law, University of Kolkata, Kolkata 1924 University of Delhi
Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi 1920 Central university
Army Institute of Law, Mohali 1999 Punjabi University
NIMS University, Jaipur 2004 Private University
Department of Law, Punjabi University, Patiala 1965 Punjabi University
The Central Law College, Salem 1984 The Tamil Nadu Dr Ambedkar Law University
Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi 1971 Public University
National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi 2005 Public University
Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh 1965 Public University
Amity University, Lucknow 2004 Private University
Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh 1920 Central University
Barkatullah University, Bhopal 1970 Public University
Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 1916 Public University
South Calcutta Law College, Kolkata 1970 University of Calcutta
SASTRA University, Thanjavur 1984 Private University
Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Darbhanga 1972 Public University
National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam 2009 Public University
The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda 1949 State University
Amity University, Haryana 2010 Private University
Dr Ambedkar Government Law College, Chennai 1891 The Tamil Nadu Dr Ambedkar Law University
Amity University, Gwalior 2010 Private University
Bhagat Phool Singh Mahila Vishwavidyalaya, Sonepat 1973 State University
Kannur University, Kannur 1996 Public University
Central University of Haryana, Haryana 2009 Central University
Dr B.R. Ambedkar University, Srikakulam 2008 State University
Assam University, Silchar 1994 Central University
Saurashtra University, Rajkot 1967 Public University
Andhra University, Dr B.R. Ambedkar College of Law, Visakhapatnam 1926 Public University
Al-Ameen College of Law, Bangalore 1988 Karnataka State Law University
Aliah University, Kolkata 1780 Autonomous University
Jagan Nath University, Jaipur 2008 Private University
Bishop Cotton Women’s Christian Law College, Bangalore 2002 Karnataka State Law University
Jagran School of Law, Dehradun 2006 Uttarakhand Technical University
Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur 1976 Public University
Jagran Lakecity University, Bhopal 2013 State University
Jai Prakash Vishwavidyalaya, Chapra 1990 Public University

Next articleRU Conducted Non-Teaching Recruitment after 30 Years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here